Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Noise of EF85 F1.8

5D_Mark5

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Noise of EF85 F1.8

Hi,

I am a beginner of photography. I just received my second-hand EF85 F1.8 (categorized as like new). I just used it for a few shots and I was surprised by the noise from the lens when focusing. The noise is comparable to my EFS 18-55 kit lens. I thought people were saying lenses using USM are much quieter. So is my lens normal?

Sep 05, 2012 at 05:20 AM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Noise of EF85 F1.8

I've never used the 85/1.8 but would never describe ANY of the full ring USM lenses I have used as sounding like an 18-55 kit lens (micro motor), so I would say that there must be something wrong with the lens.
Can you return it for a refund?

Sep 05, 2012 at 06:02 AM
anthonygh
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Noise of EF85 F1.8

I have this lens.....it is basically silent when focusing.

Sep 05, 2012 at 08:06 AM
Gochugogi
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Noise of EF85 F1.8

5D_Mark5 wrote:
Hi,

I am a beginner of photography. I just received my second-hand EF85 F1.8 (categorized as like new). I just used it for a few shots and I was surprised by the noise from the lens when focusing. The noise is comparable to my EFS 18-55 kit lens. I thought people were saying lenses using USM are much quieter. So is my lens normal?