Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Which lens to buy?

Gadsbar

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Which lens to buy?

I'm fairly new to photography, and since getting a canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II lens have been converted to prime lenses. I was thinking of getting another prime and was wondering which would be the most suitable to get next, so thought I'd ask for some help choosing. I'm on a bit of a budget, but from the looks of it there are a few reasonably priced lenses, a bit more than the 50mm 1.8 I have already but that's alright. I've looked at a few, both of the cheaper 28mm canons (f/2.8 and the f/1.8 USM) as well as the 40mm STM and the 85mm 1.8. Anyone have any suggestions as to which of these lenses are most worth the money for what they do? Obviously I understand that they are good for different things, but for example if it's not worth getting the 40mm as I already have the 50mm or the 85mm or whatever, please let me know! Thanks

Sep 05, 2012 at 12:56 AM
kewlcanon
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Which lens to buy?

Maybe spend more time using the lenses you have ?.

Sep 05, 2012 at 01:09 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · Which lens to buy?

Hi Gadsbar,

Welcome to FM.

"Worth the money" is subjective, and so it would help to know more about what images you want to make with your new and excellent-yet-cost-effective prime lens, that you can't do with your 50/1.8.... Such as, wider vs. longer.

With respect to wider, I would suggest you consider the venerable EF 24/2.8 lens (not the new and relatively expensive 24/2.8 IS lens). In my experience, it's a peach.