Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Using Video to Capture Stills

azngigolo64
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Using Video to Capture Stills

Newbie here so please excuse the ignorance.

I was shooting video at a gun range the other day and realized that movie stills are pretty darn good from the 5D Mark 2. I am going to be at a pool party tomorrow and would like to get shots of my friends diving into the pool and trying to capture that perfect moment in the air. Since the stills FPS is only 3.9 vs 30 fps for video, has anyone ever tried recording video and then using the stills from the video? Or will I be happier with using burst mode and timing the shots? Thoughts?

Sep 03, 2012 at 04:48 AM
Liquidstone
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Using Video to Capture Stills

azngigolo64 wrote:

I was shooting video at a gun range the other day and realized that movie stills are pretty darn good from the 5D Mark 2. I am going to be at a pool party tomorrow and would like to get shots of my friends diving into the pool and trying to capture that perfect moment in the air. Since the stills FPS is only 3.9 vs 30 fps for video, has anyone ever tried recording video and then using the stills from the video? Or will I be happier with using burst mode and
...Show more

The still frames from 1920x1080 5D2 video should be quite good enough for very small prints (say 5"x7"), for newspaper use, for web postings or any application where high-res is not needed. You get in effect 30 fps @ 2MP. However, the still files will be highly compressed with a lot of artifacts. These can easily break down if post processed aggressively, thus the exposure and other image parameters must be close to spot on as captured.