Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · LR4 File System

mawyatt

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · LR4 File System

I am new to LR4 (and LR in general) as well as MacBook Pro (finally giving up on Windows!!). Is there a good on-line reference that explains the file system & catalog system used by LR4 and with a MBP?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Aug 30, 2012 at 06:03 PM
WAYCOOL
• • • •
p.1 #2 · LR4 File System

Apple uses the HFS+ file system read about it here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HFS_Plus.
As for the catalog system it is largely the same as in Windows.

Aug 30, 2012 at 07:22 PM
howardm4
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · LR4 File System

LR4 uses SQLite as its database. It's a simple, self-contained database where the db is a binary file sitting in the Mac OSX filesystem.

If you really want to know about the Mac filesystem, then read the previous HFS+ entry. There isn't any real documentation on the catalog other than grabbing a database browser that supports SQLite and opening the .lrcat file (do it on a copy of the .lrcat file). It's reasonably straight-forward.

If your question is more generalized as in 'I want help understanding the basics of navigating on the Mac', then a book like Pogue's 'Missing Manual' might be of value.

Aug 30, 2012 at 07:28 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · LR4 File System

I may be wrong but I'm not sure the OP meant things quite that deep. The way I read the OP was more like a Reference on how LR4 stores and catalogues your images.

If so the there are many books and online videos for the new to Lightroom user.

I know the Lynda.com videos start you off at the basics of the catalogue . And the videos are quite informative .