Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Newbie to Printing, Calibration, Printer Profiling, etc.....

StillFingerz
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Newbie to Printing, Calibration, Printer Profiling, etc...help!

Hello FMers,

Other than direct printing to low end inkjet printers I've zero experience with color management; camera to computer to print. I use Canon gear (cameras, lenses and printers), got a used spyder pro v2 from a buddy, but really have little clue what to read other than the manuals.

Are there any books, websites or other tutorials you might suggest to get me started?

My current kit consists of Canon 40D and 50D, L and non-L glass, a Pixma 9500MkII printer, 1024x768 resolution laptop(xp) and desktop(vista) both with 4Gb ram, LR v3.6 and Photoshop CS6, and a friends Spyder Pro v2.

A new system will be purchased near year end and will consist of a Dell XPS desktop(Win7 or 8) 64bit, 32Gb ram, 3rd gen i7 quadcore, Dell 2410 ultrasharp monitor (IPS screen), LR v4 and the newer Spyder if required.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated, I'm looking at getting the "Camera to Print and Screen" video tutorials from LL as their Lightroom videos were helpful...I've no clue about high quality paper and print both color and B&W.

Thanks,

Jerry

Aug 29, 2012 at 12:54 AM
JoeMelzer
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Newbie to Printing, Calibration, Printer Profiling, etc...help!

Hi Jerry,

there are a few sites with nice tutorials that may help you to get on the road. I don't have the links here, but one site I remember is this: http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/articles.php

cheers - Joe

Aug 29, 2012 at 11:24 AM
howardm4
• • • •