Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

atodzia

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

I am considering getting a Gitzo series 5 tripod in the future and am wondering from users advantages / disadvantages of the 3 section GT5532LS versus the 4 section GT5542LS. I have been using a Gitzo carbon fiber series 1 tripod for the last 10 years and will keep it. It has 3 sections and is 1 inch shorter than the 3 section and 2 inches shorter than the 4 section. The height of it (58") has never been an issue. The 3 section is 24 inches when not extended and the 4 section is 27 inches. The 4 section extends 1 inch higher.

Andy

Aug 27, 2012 at 07:12 PM
Smiert Spionam
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

With a tripod of that size, I don't see any stability drawback to the 4-section. Even the smallest sections are a size larger than the outer tubes on your series 1.

Aug 27, 2012 at 07:18 PM
Lars Johnsson
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

I belive you got the numbers wrong. I don't belive the 4 sections is longer than the 3 sections when NOT extended. It's nearly always the opposite.
I have the 4 sections. And it's really stable and good

Aug 27, 2012 at 08:20 PM
atodzia

p.1 #4 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

You are correct. My mistake. The 3 section is 27 inches and the 4 section is 24 inches.

Aug 27, 2012 at 08:22 PM
peter_n
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · Gitzo Series 5, 3 or 4 section tripod?

atodzia wrote:
The 3 section is 24 inches when not extended and the 4 section is 27 inches.