FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Portable lighting

StowePhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Portable lighting

Forgive me if this topic has been discussed before. I am looking to invest in a good off camera lighting system that I can use for weddings, as well as some commercial work.

I was hoping those with experience could point me in a direction I should be looking in. Portability is important as is ease of setup and use.

An itemized list of what you use and why would be so helpful.

I have limited experience with off camera lighting, so if you know of a great resource to learn I would be grateful for any advise.

Thank you-

Aug 22, 2012 at 09:54 AM
sboerup
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Portable lighting

Einstein flash - by far the most versatile full featured strobe out there (and arguably the best) - http://www.paulcbuff.com/e640.php

Vagabond Mini - portable battery power supply. This is the greatest photography invention since 2005, IMO. http://www.paulcbuff.com/vm120.php

Add a modifier and radio transmitters and you are set.

Aug 22, 2012 at 10:20 AM
joosay
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Portable lighting

+1 for einsteins. I use the pocket wizard receiver made for einsteins.

Aug 22, 2012 at 10:43 AM
SloPhoto
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Portable lighting

The VML (vagabond mini) is 10000 kinds of awesome. (I use it with my old ab flashes)

That combo plus a JRx trigger set (or the new cybersyncs) is amazingly nice. (wireless power adjustment)

Aug 22, 2012 at 12:15 PM
derbarrett
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Portable lighting

+2 for einsteins!!

Aug 22, 2012 at 12:35 PM
TTLKurtis
• • • • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Portable lighting

I like my Profoto AcuteB2 600 Air, but it's hard to argue against the value of the Einstein and the Vagabond Mini

Aug 22, 2012 at 01:04 PM
Jon-Mark
• •
p.1 #7 · p.1 #7 · Portable lighting