Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Question on printing

Guari
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Question on printing

Hi all, need some advice.

I have been shooting for about 4 years with a 6x6. On a tripod. Pan F film, stuff that I like, for my amusement, for my hanging and to give to my family, the reason I do photography as a hobby.

Most of what I have in print from my 6x6 has been printed by myself on RC and Fibre B&W paper, up to about 15X15.. Looks lovely.

Anyhow I have shot a lot and my negs are archived. I moved countries and now I have the opportunity to scan with an Imacon for a superb price (I pay a fee for a full day to sit in front of one, so I do the scanning). This will allow me to finally get prints with the limited access I have to wet darkrooms. It will also allow me to scan my E6's and C41's.

I do not have a printer at home to make decent prints. I do not have the space to get a big quality printer like I would like. So I will get to print from the scans. I am already sending some files to ILFORD and they print on RC paper from digital and I am happy with it. Now I need to know what to do with the colours.

What are the main differences when using printing services for semi-big sizes (like from 15x15 to 30x30) in c-type or inkjet from digital files? I would expect the c print to reproduce better gradations and have a wider gamut. Is that the case? There are a couple companies doing C type and high quality inkjets over the net.

Does anyone in similar circumstances have a preference of one type of print over the other?

Again, I am not printing at home.

Thanks

Aug 21, 2012 at 08:06 PM
colinm
• • •
p.1 #2 · Question on printing