Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Does the Canon MT-14EX Macro Ring Lite work with 100L IS ...

howard
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Does the Canon MT-14EX Macro Ring Lite work with 100L IS Macro?

Hi,

I've never used a macro ring lite before, but am considering getting one in the future. A cursory look indicates that this ring lite needs a "Canon Macrolite Adapter 67" to work with the 100L lens. My guess is that (looking at the specs), this ring lite is really designed for lenses with 58mm filter thread. If that is the case, then the "adapter" is really a step-down ring, does that mean it will partially block the lens front element?

Please share your experience if you have this combo.

Thanks,
Howard

Aug 19, 2012 at 01:21 PM
PaulB
• •
p.1 #2 · Does the Canon MT-14EX Macro Ring Lite work with 100L IS Macro?

That step-down adapter approach works on the 180/3.5L and that has a 72mm filter size.
I wouldn't think Canon would offer the option if it didn't work.

Aug 19, 2012 at 02:05 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · Does the Canon MT-14EX Macro Ring Lite work with 100L IS Macro?

Howard, do you frequent the macro forum ? You will get loads of info over there.
But from what ive seen the twin light has a lot more fans over there (of the ones that use the dedicated macro lights )

Aug 19, 2012 at 02:09 PM
willis
• •
p.1 #4 · Does the Canon MT-14EX Macro Ring Lite work with 100L IS Macro?