Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · A Photo with a Question

helenica
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · A Photo with a Question

I am mainly a landscape photographer with some portraits, but when the chance presents itself I occasionally shoot birds. However, I am less aware of what the norms here on the animal forum are. Take this case: if this bird was a person I would most likely retouch the obvious blemish if that was what the model wanted. But is it ethical to retouch nature photo's? What would you guys do?

Aug 15, 2012 at 06:42 PM
jdc562
• • •
p.1 #2 · A Photo with a Question

I would not retouch. Worn feathering is a natural part of the bird and is seasonal information. Just hypothetically, something like a disease or gull attacks have been harming puffins, and here you have photo documentation of that, which is much more important than cosmetics. I think most biologically oriented photographers would only consider retouching things like a stick blocking part of the eye if that were really detracting from the i.d., etc., or cloning out an odd part of another bird sticking into the edge of an image.

Aug 15, 2012 at 07:02 PM
Rob Tillyer
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · A Photo with a Question

Beauty shot.
I think we all have different standards as to retouching. In this case I would be more inclined to try to pull down the highlights on the whites but I really don't mind a little retouching to tell a better story.

Rob

Aug 15, 2012 at 08:33 PM
Tim Kuhn
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · A Photo with a Question

If it was mine I would leave it as is, it's natural. I also don't see anything wrong with correcting it if that is to your taste.

Tim

Aug 15, 2012 at 11:09 PM
Hector Three

p.1 #5 · A Photo with a Question