New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · location family group pricing

david debalko
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · location family group pricing

I am a commercial photographer, one of my clients(a retirement community) has asked me if I am interested in photographing family groups within the communities (4 locations). They would open this up to residents and employees, possibly a lot of photographs, they would advertise it, I would schedule all the photographs. The only thing they ask for is a portion of the sitting fees to be donated back to the communities. They would like to do it in late September/October in time for Holiday orders. I don't really do personal family photography so the pricing I am a little unsure about, Can anyone give me an idea of pricing? All the prints would be ordered through me.
thanks, Dave

Aug 14, 2012 at 12:26 PM
innaeddy1
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · location family group pricing

To give you some suggestions. You are a commercial photographer, so you should know what your day rate or cost of doing business are.
With that said, these are random numbers so adjust to meet your money goals. With them wanting a portion of the sitting fees I would make this number higher say 50$ and do an A la Carte pricing on prints if you are not guranteed sales. What I would do in this case is to pre sell packages and keep the sitting fees lower and offer to give back a % of sales minus the sitting fee. Doing it this way gurantees you money and if everyone purchases the lower package your not paying money out of the sitting fee with no gurantee sales.
For example a sitting fee of 40$ and Pkg 1.- 4 wallets,2- 5x7 cost would be 30$. Pkg 2. 8 wallets, 2- 5x7, 1- 8x10 cost would be 40$ and so on.