Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Diffuser SB-900 Question

Idle0095

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Diffuser SB-900 Question

Im going to ask this. Dont hate me or yell at me. Im new to photography. Bare with me please.

When is it good to use the diffuser that comes with the SB-900? Should I use the one that goes on it or the flip down one?

Basically just trying to pick some photography brains on why and when to use a diffuser? Maybe what degrees to aim the sb900 head at as well.

Im taking some classes in the fall for photography but im wondering now and cant find much on google.

Thanks

Oh I shoot my family and friends mostly. Some landscape as well.

Aug 13, 2012 at 08:22 PM
buckeyeguy1
• •
p.1 #2 · Diffuser SB-900 Question

I personally have never used the one that comes with it. I have used the flip down diffuser in the past but not very often. If memory serves me correctly, when you flip down the built in diffuser (I think they call it wide angle diffuser or something like that) it will automatically adjust your zoom on the flash to the widest setting.

If you have the basics of how aperture, shutter speed and ISO work together, I would reccomend checking out On-Camera Flash by Neil van Niekerk. BrianO on the lighting forum suggested it for me when I bought my first flash and it is a fantastic read! I think I paid $20 for it on iBooks. Printed versions are around the same price. I have been using the black foamie thing that he suggests using and it works quite well.

Aug 13, 2012 at 08:36 PM
Idle0095

p.1 #3 · Diffuser SB-900 Question