New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Stolen items...

ChrisCoy
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Stolen items...

You'll have to forgive my skepticism, I work in law enforcement... it comes with the territory.

However, I'd like to understand why people buy gear, and list it in the buy/sell area the same day its received? Or list "NIB", or never opened gear? I've seen ad's for everything from camera bags, to flagship camera bodies.

If an item was received and a person decided they 'just changed their mind', wouldn't it be more better for that person to return the item to the supplier they purchased it from, instead of taking a loss?

If its old gear that's been discontinued and its been in the back of a closet, I can understand the sale. But if its items that are just released, and not even in stock in stores I find it a bit suspicious.

How do you verify the stuff you buy hasn't been bought off the back of a truck in an alley somewhere? Or am I the only one concerned with this issue?

Aug 13, 2012 at 03:26 AM
ndirienzo
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Stolen items...

Just ask if they have a receipt. If they don't and you're not comfortable with it, then don't buy it. People do it to get cashback on their credit cards, rebates, airline miles, bing cashback (when it was around), or because they bought a package and are selling off everything they don't need. One of the best deals was when you could get a $400 credit with a Canon printer + DSLR, plus a double rebate when you bought a DSLR + lens. I got a 70-200 2.8IS v2 for $1700 once I sold off all the other stuff. Everyone that bought from me got new gear with a full warranty at a good bit less than retail. The point is that they might have their reasons for it, but as long as they have a receipt, you should be all good.

Aug 13, 2012 at 03:38 AM
ChrisCoy
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Stolen items...