Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro World | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Water splashes in a shot glass

justindong
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Water splashes in a shot glass

This is my very first attempt at macro. I've been saving up for a 105mm from nikon but my dad had an old 55mm/3.5 from his photography days so I decided to give it a spin.

I enjoyed it a lot but manual focus was pretty tricky for macro. The real big problem though was that sometimes I'd have to get so close that the lens would block the light. I'm assuming this wouldn't really be a problem at 105mm. Anyways, I'd just like some tips for how to effectively shoot these splashes. I realize that I could've gotten way closer for the first one, but my main interest is if there might be a way to get most of the water splashes in focus. In these photos I just focused on the front of the shot glass. Even if I had the AF, I don't think it would be able to focus on the water splashes in time

Splash by justindong, on Flickr

Drops from Dublin by justindong, on Flickr

Separation by justindong, on Flickr

Aug 11, 2012 at 09:16 AM
birdied
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Water splashes in a shot glass

Hi Justin, very nice first try on these. While I have not done these particular types of shots, I do like to do falling water drops. I think the principal is much the same.

I use the following:

Nikon 60mm macro
SB900 Flash
Camera on tripod
Remote release ( but not absolutely necessary)
White Poster board for background to bounce the flash

Manual settings on the camera-
Shutter usually from 1/160 to 1/250
Aperture from f/8 to f/16

Flash settings - I normally use the TTL , but if doing manual - 1/4 to 1/16 power

Flash is off camera pointed to the white poster board. I normally put the flash on the left side .