Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Guide to lenses

stevef224

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Guide to lenses

Hi all - I am a total newbie to photography.

Can someone give me a link or tell where I can find out what the numbers & switches mean on the side of a lens.

Also a good setting to start off with

The lens in question (if it makes any difference is a Miranda 70 - 200)

Many thanks

Aug 06, 2012 at 01:29 PM
omarlyn
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Guide to lenses

stevef224 wrote:
Hi all - I am a total newbie to photography.

Can someone give me a link or tell where I can find out what the numbers & switches mean on the side of a lens.

Also a good setting to start off with

The lens in question (if it makes any difference is a Miranda 70 - 200)

Many thanks

Hello there...I'll assume your question is sincere and I'll do my best to answer but I have to be honest here, your questions are...how can I say this...odd!

Well to start, the numbers on the lens will indicate the aperture setting (f-stop), the zoom range (focal length), the focus distance in feet & meters, and the depth of field (DOF). However, NONE of that onfo will help you at all if you're asking what it means...really! You'd need to take 'Photograpghy 101' just to get started. As for what setting is good to start with...impossible to answer. That's like asking what do all the dials mean on a kitchen stove top and what's a good setting to cook at...it's just impossible to even suggest anything without knowing WHAT you're trying to do (assuming you are trying to photograph something).