Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Tripod heads

3iron
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Tripod heads

I'm new to using tripods and recently picked up a Fiesol tripod with a CB-50 ball head. It seems like a good enough unit but I have a problem. Perhaps it is more my technique, but when I use a longer lens ie: 70-200 x.8 there is quite a bit of adjustment necessary to get it set. If I compose the photo through the eyepeice, then lock the ball, the front lense will settle afterward and I actually have to raise the lense above the composition, lock the ball, and let the lens settle.
Am I doing something incorrectly here or is there a better setup for a longer lense like this?
Thanks for your help and best wishes.

Aug 02, 2012 at 12:35 PM
surf monkey
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Tripod heads

You'll probably have to give more info to get the best input.
What lens specifically?
What camera?

Assuming that you're mounting using the lens mount, not the camera mount, your setup should be as balanced as possible on the ballhead. To do this place the bracket in the ballhead with the clamp loose and the ballhead tension loose. Slide the bracket, lens and camera to get it in the most balanced position.

If your tripod and ballhead are adequate for the gear your using and properly balanced, you should be able to have "minimal" shifting. There has been much debate in other threads whether or not a very slight shift is always present and I would say that it's impossible to have absolutely no shift. In my experience, the better the ballhead, the less the shift. The amount of shift is also determined by focal length. At 24 mm the shift is usually too small to notice, at 200 mm it is usually quite noticeable. The additional weight is also a factor.

Aug 02, 2012 at 04:15 PM
3iron
• •