Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · help me i am going INSANE (dust...)

aFrIcanSH
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · help me i am going INSANE (dust...)

Okay i have a big problem, i'm sure some of you guys have it too and its just the bloody issue of dealing with dust and gear. I've been shooting for over 6 years and i can NOT get over dust. It comes and goes in phases. 5 years back when i had a D40 i spent one summer just obsessing about sensor dust. Now its lens dust. And it's DRIVING ME MAD. I know that the dust doesn't affect my photos, it doesn't come up in my pics, affect flare or bokeh or anything. I do macro, but with the D800 i haven't. However even with my previous D300 and a dust "clogged" 105mm, the pictures still came out fantastic.

I've got the 24G, 50 1.2, 85 1.4G, 105VR and 70-300mm VR. The 70-300 is pristine, i've hardly used it since i got it, but the primes are just infested with dust. Here the scale of my problem, much to do with my OCD:
i bought 200 lens tissues (pec pads?), eclipse lens cleaning solution, a new blower (giottos coco large, cause my old one is like 3 years old and i'm afriad i blow dust in), a new microfiber cloth. I spent the whole day today just cleaning the rear elements of my 24 50 and 85. I didn't even dare touch the 105mm cause the element is more recessed. And every time i cleaned, i wasn't satisfied. There'd be tiny specs, swirly smudges, anything to just tick me off and get me to try again. And again and again and again. After 4 hours i used FORTY lens tissues and my hands aching from blowing time and time again. I know this seems more related to my OCD, and it is scary. But basically i need help getting over the dust issue.