Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2012 · A few 5d3 questions

caad4rep
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · A few 5d3 questions

I'm a long time Nikon shooter am seriously considering a switch to the 5d3. I've been contemplating a switch to Canon for the past 5 years and am getting closer to pulling the trigger each year. I feel that Canon has a stronger lens line up and ergonomics which make more sense to me.

A couple questions though. Can I make the viewfinder clear except for the active focus point? Nothing in the view finder except for one little box that I can move around with the joystick? Is that possible? To my understanding, that box is black and stays black though, correct?

On various blogs and forums I see people complaining about low ISO banding, especially at ISO 100. Is this a real issue or do you only run into it if you are really try to pull stuff out of shadows and dark areas?

Are Canon warranties transferrable if I buy used?

My understanding is that gray market products have no warranties but willbe serviced by canon usa for a fee, correct?

Thanks everyone

Jul 28, 2012 at 01:54 PM
Rickuz
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · A few 5d3 questions

I can answer 3 of your questions.

1. The low ISO banding is real, and it seems that Canon doesn't know how to get rid of it, nor how to improve the low ISO dynamic range. It has pretty much remained on the same level since the 5D2 sensor came out. Lifting shadows on photos from a 5D2 or 5D3 is nightmarish compared to doing it on photos from - let's say the Nikon D800. The Exmor sensor reigns supreme in this area.