Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Advice for Maui/Kauai Trip

chris0johnson

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Advice for Maui/Kauai Trip

Hey guys,
I'm looking for some advice on an up coming trip to Maui and Kauai. Unfortunately I don't have that much time and my Fiance probably isn't going to want to spend a whole load of time cursing the islands looking for photo opportunities. Can anyone suggest any really good locations?

I'm also slightly stuck on which gear to bring. Currently I plan on taking a tripod and my Canon D60 with 28-135 lens, however I am pretty new to the photography world and would be willing to rent a lens or two and pick up polarizer/filter (if necessary). Again any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris

Jul 27, 2012 at 01:20 PM
AMaji
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Advice for Maui/Kauai Trip

Get a Circular Polarizer (CPL) and a rectangular 3 Stop gradual N-D filter. For the N-D filter, do not buy a Cokin, even though they are cheap. They will turn the skies grey and shift colors. The grad filter will help you make better sunrise and sunset photos at the beach. The CPL will not only enrich the skies but also help you take long exposures at the waterfalls.

As for Maui, there are photographic opportunities almost everywhere. You will need a wider lens also, but I don't know too much about Canon gear, so you need to look around. Remember to take a "Road to Hana" trip. There are numerous waterfalls on the way, and you will enjoy yourself there. Also, a trip up to the Haleakela (sp?) crater is rewarding. A star photography over there maybe a lot of fun, if you enjoy that.

I have not been Kauai, and hence can't tell you too much. I know there is a helicopter tour that lands and lets you take pictures of the Jurassic Falls there.