Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · How to get a couple to relax?

JoeMelzer
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to get a couple to relax?

So, this is my first year digging into wedding photography. Last year I did three weddings that brought me to this year, starting to adertise on google to build a portfolio. Funny enough, even though I'm not to experienced I can pretty much tell from the first meeting with the couple whether it's going to be a fun couple session, or an exhausting session that you really have to work.
This weekend I had an exhausting session and I really have no clue on how to deal with this. Perhaps you can help. You MUST

The couple was kind and nice and booked me for portrait session and (very unglamorous) marriage only. Meaning, the portrait session easily lasted one and a half hour. During the whole time it was impossible to get them to relax and calm down. It could be that they simply can't - then this post is useless.
But there must be a way to get them to feel comfortable. For example: They want a couple session, but played basketball and soccer and I got a lot of shots with either bride or groom jumping or shooting, doing things. A lot of ungenuine smiles (or should I say uncertain) and in post I find it most difficult to pick a handful shots I like. To sum it up: Two nervous bouncing balls.

I tried to calm them down using static poses, have them close their eyes and imagine being at a beach or whatever. But even with closed eyes I had the feeling they were keen on moving along, doing the next thing. Oh, one more thing: without seeing a single image they were enthusiastic about the shoot and recommend me to everyone they know. Perhaps it was just me?