Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · A.S. Am I ready? edition...

SloPhoto
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · A.S. Am I ready? edition...

A.S. Aspiring Second Shooter (Not an ASS, really!)

I am trying to improve enough to be an assistant/second shooter. I am a UI/software developer in the bay area/CA by day and want to second shoot weddings on the side for fun. I have reached out to two FM members asking to assist/shoot a bit for free and now that things are approaching would love some harsh C&C. Not looking to become a pro, but I would like to be on the same level eventually.
(I would be open to shooting/assisting anyone local for free)

I filled in a bit at my cousins wedding when the main photographer hurt her back (story here http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1084257/0), but have never actually shot a wedding seriously.

Just a bit of playing around with the wife...
1-1)

Playing uncle bob for my brother and sister in law (we paid for the photographer, I brought 1 lens/camera, and these are two of the ~5 shots I took of the couple)
2-1)

2-2)

My uncle's birthday party a few weeks ago (outdoors + 1 remote flash, basically nothing to bounce off of but trees)
3-1)

3-2 Singing to his girls with my dad. I do have a few shots from the front to show context.)

3-3)

3-4)

3-5)

3-6)

Just this weekend I went to my aunt/uncle's 70th birthday. It was in a very ugly grange building with the most horrific CFL lamps you could imagine. I decided to play with studio strobes in this environment and try to overpower ambient. Honestly not too pleased with what I got. I really need to work on getting in there and showing connections.

4-1)

4-2)

4-3)

4-4)

4-5)

4-6)

4-7)

4-8)

4-9)