Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Basic flash question

raven4ns
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Basic flash question

I am just getting into outdoor flash usage and have a question. How or why is a flash able to freeze a moving subject like a flower which is being pushed around by a breeze? Most cameras have a shutter speed of approx 200 with a flash and if the ISO is say 200 or 400 and perhaps an aperture of f11 or f16 I don't understand why it can freeze a subject that has some movement. Thank you.

Tim

Jul 19, 2012 at 12:12 AM
hugowolf
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Basic flash question

raven4ns wrote:
I am just getting into outdoor flash usage and have a question. How or why is a flash able to freeze a moving subject like a flower which is being pushed around by a breeze? Most cameras have a shutter speed of approx 200 with a flash and if the ISO is say 200 or 400 and perhaps an aperture of f11 or f16 I don't understand why it can freeze a subject that has some movement.
Tim

It canít if there is enough ambient light such that the shutter speed determines the exposure duration. However, if there is enough difference between the ambient light and the flash light, then the flash will stop motion.

The duration of the flash burst at full power is quite lengthy: somewhere in the region of 1/500s or longer, but at less than full power the flash duration is very short. At half power the duration is about 1/1000s, and at 1/4 power about 1/2000s; approximately halving for each one stop drop in power.