Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Pentax 67II ??

Gyroscope
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Pentax 67II ??

Back in the day when I was a bumbling idiot with a camera and just starting to learn photography I lusted after a Pentax 67ii. Now that I know what I am doing (I think) I shoot with a 5Dmk2 and 7D have a range of L-lens from 17-500 with a 24ts-e on order. I shoot mainly landscape with some wildlife and becoming more and more drawn to black and white images.

So now that the costs have come down so much and second hand stuff still comes up for sale regularly should I buy a used Pentax 67ii with a 45mm lens and some tri-x film to have a play around with and shoot a bit of landscape? I've never used a MF camera before and have no idea what to expect in image quality - I know it was always considered good but surely its not going to be any better than what I am getting out of the 5D2?

Any thoughts from those who have actually used or still own this legendary camera? Anyone use it alongside digital and what does it give you that digital doesn't? I might just get one to satisfy my curiosity and keep it as a bit of history to have on my shelf I do have a decent Epson V700 scanner and I know somewhere I can get quality developing done so that side of things should be easy and there still seems to be plenty of film on ebay.

Jun 16, 2012 at 09:40 AM
JohnJ
• • •
p.1 #2 · Pentax 67II ??

I can't comment on the Pentax 67ii specifically but I think you will find that sharpness from a 5D2, or most digital cameras, already exceeds that of a 6x7 neg. What you will get is a different rendering and DOF due to the larger sensor. This might be enough.