Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Loch Arkaig - 1st go at Layer blending

redmonkee
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Loch Arkaig - 1st go at Layer blending

Hi guys

i've recently posted a lot of samples of HDR work done in Photomatix. I'm fairly new to HDR so still trying to find the right balance with all the sliders. I think i'm slowly getting there, but a few people have suggested manually blending the images to give the greater dynamic range and more natural looking effect.

Anyway after a good couple of hours playing with various luminosity masks and alpha channels I managed this from 9 bracketed shots. I know it's not perfect but for a first go i'm fairly happy with it and love the control I have over the final image.

Would love to know your thoughts

May 18, 2012 at 01:51 PM
parsons
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Loch Arkaig - 1st go at Layer blending

this much better than the others, though still dont know why you neede 9 images? thats probably why it still looks flat with lack of contrast. also, if you did see my link form your other post, be sure to check out how to beat the dreaded lens flare.

simon

May 18, 2012 at 01:55 PM
redmonkee
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Loch Arkaig - 1st go at Layer blending

Hi Simon

Thanks for the comment and for the other link. I've not checked it out yet as i've been busy playing with this image. I'll check it out tonight though.

Don't know why I used 9 images, probably to keep as much detail as i could but you're right i've probably lost a bit of the contrast and 'pop' in doing so. Still this image may look better when I run it back through LR4 and the clarity sliders

May 18, 2012 at 01:58 PM
ben egbert
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Loch Arkaig - 1st go at Layer blending