Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · How do you show proofs without having them stolen?

Richard Booth
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How do you show proofs without having them stolen?

Let me say first that I'm not a working pro. I do this because I enjoy it and can write off the equipment because of our publishing business. However, I have sold landscape work at art fairs, sports shots to parents and musical theater shots for local high schools. I hate to put watermarks on prints but feel it is necessary to slow them down.

We have a Zenfolio account and I post some online in a page-turn program. Doing a screen capture is a walk in the park for most people and especially the kids. I've seen my images on Facebook with proof numbers and watermarks all over them. When I shoot a theater performance and bring proofs the following night, people complain because they are too small but it's costly to print large proofs. I actually had to stop one woman who was taking pictures of my proof sheets with her phone. They don't care. Short of limiting my shooting and only doing face-to-face consults with parents using an Ipad, I don't know what else to do.

How does everyone else handle this?

Richard

May 16, 2012 at 04:24 PM
RDKirk
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How do you show proofs without having them stolen?

You're worried about people stealing the images? Well, that's something to worry about. But let me mention something else that I and many others have found to be true:

The impulse to purchase the image is greatest upon first sight. Every time the client sees the image without purchasing it, the impulse ever to purchase is gradually extinquished.