Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2012 · Canon 5D Mark III focus question

Dogwalker2720

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 5D Mark III focus question

Long time lurker here.

First off, a bit of background.
I'm a serious amateur and have been using the 5D classic for the last 4 years. I recently got the 5D Mark III when it was released and am quite pleased in general with the camera.

However, there is one thing that still nags at me about the camera's performance.

The focus performance appears to be soft at times, compared to the 5D classic. At times, the focus performance appears sharp, but I get the nagging feeling that it is not as sharp as the 5D classic. What drives me batty is that at times, it appears sharp, yet at times, on shots that I expect it to be sharp, it appears a little soft (at 100% crop). I've used both the new DPP version and Lightroom to compare images.

I shoot in RAW fyi so any in camera JPEG processing is out of the question I should think.

I've been hesitant to post this question as it could any of the following problems:

1) User error. The new platform has a myriad of new functions over the 5c that it may be that I'm missing a step here. I tend to spot meter and focus separately. If there are any settings and techniques that one has to use to get the focus sharpness, please let me know.i.e. do I need to use a shutter speed above 200?
2) AF Microadjustment- Is this needed for tack sharp images? If so, can the veterans kindly point me to the resources that they use to set the adjustments?
3) My camera is a dud (then I better get on the horn with Canon).