Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · My First Event, a charity 5k

bqq100

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My First Event, a charity 5k

Couple of weeks ago I volunteered to shoot a charity 5k run, and 1k kids run. There were a couple of other shooters, so there wasn't a whole lot of pressure if i royally screwed up! I've never done an event like this before, and it was quite the learning experience.

Some things I learned

1. Shooting into the low hanging morning sun sucks. Between my lens not being the greatest in backlit situation, overexposing by 2/3 or 1 stop to bring up the faces of the runners really killed the color/contrast. Really had to push the images hard in post to get not crappy results. Also, having their faces in the shadows and the background in the sun makes picking white balance a challenge.
  2. Shooting into the low hanging morning sun really really sucks [I think it deserves to get mentioned twice ]
  3. Pay more attention to my shutter speed! I was keeping an eye on it, and upping my ISO as I thought necessary. There were a few spots where it could of been higher, next time Auto-ISO.
  4. Kids make it easy to take good images!
  5. I need to shoot portrait more often!
  6. Shooting a runner cutoff at the shins or ankles can look a little odd

Any words of wisdom, comments, criticism etc would be appreciated!

All of these were shot with my Sigma 50-150 2.8 II on a D7000

May 02, 2012 at 04:12 AM
bqq100

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · My First Event, a charity 5k

A few more

One of the ones I really had to work on due to shooting into the sun

May 02, 2012 at 04:14 AM
indiginess

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · My First Event, a charity 5k

bqq100,

you want critique and feedback? sure.