Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Maui Landscapes and the 5D3

erikmh

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Maui Landscapes and the 5D3

A couple weeks before I left for vacation with the family to Maui, I had bought a 5D3 but didn't have any shoots scheduled to give it a good workout. Even though I wouldn't be shooting any people or events in Maui, I did bring it with me to photography the scenery and take some more controlled and calculated landscapes while the baby was asleep in the evenings.

Firstly, by no means do I claim to be an expert landscape photographer. The last couple of years I have grown a passion for it, and I am still learning the craft of it. Finding the light for landscapes is much more difficult than finding the light for portraits, and i'm still learning and struggling with landscape composition. Trust me, I took a lot of crap images that I immediately trashed!

You can view my images that I am basing this loose and brief review on can be found at http://www.erikhornung.com

Here are a few comments and insights from using the 5D3 for the last week in Maui:

1. The button layout and menu system is completely different, and despite my frustrations with it all at first, but once I grew more accustomed to it, I decided it's much better than the 5D2.

2. I had no issues at all pertaining to the supposed "light leak" issue that is going around.