Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Optimal, Efficient Workflow - saving files & folders

austriker
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Optimal, Efficient Workflow - saving files & folders

Background:

Recently I upgraded in my status of amateur photographer.. going from a 13'' macbook to a hand me down 24" iMac which is glorious. I am now running LR3 on it. With my macbook I often went to my college's photo library (or my office, as the Newspaper Photo Editor). Thus I am not a pro photographer, but rather a lover of capturing light in my days off.

I am at a cross roads now, moving files from my old busted WD hard drive on to this iMac's internal HD (and backed up via time machine). Here is why I come seeking wisdom of those FMers. Much like my garage, I use the 'dump method'. That is, I used to just save my photos in files starting with the name of the event or trip followed up a date. This makes it near impossible to find thing quickly. I want to figure out the best and most efficient way of organizing my files and photos before loading them all into LR3 (which makes organization sooo much better).

I remember reading through an article (which I cant re-find) that described a solid workflow. Basically all the photos are in one big folder then with sub folders titled like this: YYYY_MM_DD_EVENT_TITLE.

Before undertaking this giant endeavor, I turn to you all. Any good tips or links online for a solid, efficient folder naming system / workflow?

Apr 20, 2012 at 09:50 PM
msdarkroom

p.1 #2 · Optimal, Efficient Workflow - saving files & folders

You may want to look into the DAM book and site:
http://www.theDAMbook.com/index.html
http://amzn.to/HTVxTQ

Apr 20, 2012 at 10:23 PM
matthewbmedia
• • •
p.1 #3 · Optimal, Efficient Workflow - saving files & folders