Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · D4 and 14-24 or 1DX?

BostonGreg
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D4 and 14-24 or 1DX?

I'm heavily invested in Canon glass and recently placed an order for a new 1DX. I've been reading more into Nikon recently and keep hearing the grass in greener. Should I keep my trust in Canon one last time and hope the 1DX puts them back on top or spend my money on a new D4 and 14-24. I've always hated Nikon but for some reason this whim has me very excited. The D4 looks really sweet and for once, I just want my gear to work right out of the box. I'm a student and if after dropping $7k of my hard earned money this great new focusing system by Canon is shit (AGAIN) I'm going to be more than pissed! WIth around $30k in Canon L primes, should I stick with them at this point or grab the Nikon?

Mar 21, 2012 at 12:55 AM
johnip
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D4 and 14-24 or 1DX?

Sell it all and get a D4 imo.

Mar 21, 2012 at 01:27 AM
netexpress
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · D4 and 14-24 or 1DX?

I've got the 1D X on back order and the D4 in hand. I only had about an hour with the D4 after work for testing. The focus was spot on as far as I could tell. I would say better than my 1dsIII and 1d IV so far. But I really need more time to say that for sure. So don't take it seriously.

Lately I've been slowly moving to Nikon for lower focal lengths and Canon for their Super-teles. The new light weigtht version II Canon Super-Tele's are hard to beat.

Canon really has a more versatile selection of modern updates glass. Nikon has the edge on body technology.

Let's hope with this refresh they will both catch up with each other.

Mar 21, 2012 at 02:04 AM
sjms