Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Working on better baseball shots. C&C please

goneballistic

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Working on better baseball shots. C&C please

I have been shooting my son's baseball games for a couple years. I have been getting OK results but haven't been able to get the quality of a lot of you guys are getting. I'm looking for some guidance on how to improve my shooting.

I think it breaks down to primarily technique and skill,
followed by a lack of PP knowledge. I use LR3/4 and basically mess with contrast and exposure and NR. Last week I saw some images that look close to mine, taken to *fantastic* by P Alesse. So there is definitely something going on on Post that I am not aware of. Probably LOTS of things.
lastly followed by equipment. I'm mostly using 50D with a 70-200 F2.8L IS MKI, and for the last games upgraded to a 7D.

I would like to do basic assignments and implement the suggestions from each week in subsequent shoots and see if I can't take the quality up a notch or four.

Mar 20, 2012 at 06:05 AM
lhryshko
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Working on better baseball shots. C&C please

Welcome to the club, goneballistic. We are all trying to figure out the ingredients to Paul's pixel fairy dust (or whatever he calls it).

Many nice captures, btw.

Mar 20, 2012 at 06:13 AM
dmwierz
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Working on better baseball shots. C&C please

gb, welcome to FM. Nobody can compare to Paul - he's otherworldly.

Here are some thoughts on your shots:

1. Nice face and timing. Would be better taken from 10-15 feet to your left, as the background is a bit busy. Moving to your left would put the Batter's Eye in the background rather than the billboard.