Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · good intro kit for new strobist

sandman22
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · good intro kit for new strobist

Hey everyone I am just getting into using strobes and off camera flash. What would be a good kit to get started with on a fairly low budget. I currently only have a 430ex flash.

Thanks

Ben

Mar 15, 2012 at 03:04 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · good intro kit for new strobist

Since your 7D can control an off-camera Speedlite (within the limits of line-of-site), you're already off to a good start.

What kind of photography are you primarily interested in? Classical portraiture would dictate different equipment than motocross photography, for example.

Mar 15, 2012 at 04:47 AM
RobertLynn
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · good intro kit for new strobist

Using your commander to fire your 430, and bumping your iso for power, you can do a lot with 1 light and 1 umbrella.

You need a light stand, an umbrella swivel, an umbrella and possibly a cold shoe.

The cold shoe is so your flash foot can be placed on the swivel. Some swivels come with them.
I use the bogen umbrella swivel, but one will cost as much as an entry level light stand and you need a cold shoe for them. The swivel from bogen is about $30, the cold shoe from smith victor was $6.

I have no experience with them, but dot line makes swivels that are like $20 and include a cold shoe.

The light stand depends on the area you're working in and whether or not you want air cushioned or not. A/c just means it doesn't slam when you unlatch it.