Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Picked up a D2x, need some advice.

joetucker
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Picked up a D2x, need some advice.

Looking for some advice on a body conundrum. There is another thread that bears some similarity to what I'm going to ask for thoughts on - but my situation is a bit different so I'm just going to lay it out.

I am an amateur. I shoot family photos (2 young boys, 1 more boy on the way) and the rest is almost exclusively tripod-based stuff: landscapes, architecture, macro. In that same vein, I'm starting to get more and more into HDR for certain types of shots.

I've been shooting with a D7000 for the better part of the year and like it quite a bit. The two things I don't like about it are: the 3 frame AEB restriction and the very slight wiggle that is inevitably present when using a battery grip. Both of these things annoy the tar out of me. I do like having the video function - admittedly, though - I hardly ever use.

I've recently bought a whole ton of gear from a local pro who moved from Nikon to Canon and got in a bit of a cash pinch - long story short I've wound up with a D2X body that has essentially cost me nothing. It was his backup - has roughly 25k clicks and is in good cosmetic shape. I've never owned a pro body before and I've gotta tell you, I love the feel of this thing. It just feels great in my hands. It also eliminates my AEB and battery grip annoyances. The auto-focus also seems to be more snappy than that of my D7k. Of course, the sacrifice is low noise performance. Although, I rarely need to shoot at High ISOs.