Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Selling old gear

Gregg B.
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Selling old gear

I have a question about PayPal gift. I've never used this type of transaction before. I'm trying to sell one of my lenses and some guy is trying to pay me with this "gift" type of payment. Any of you tried it or have any experience with it?
Thanks
Greg

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:18 PM
jhinkey
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · Selling old gear

I believe if you use Paypal Gift you, as the seller, are not covered by any of Paypal's seller protection features.

Now, if it's a person you have high confidence in, perhaps it's worth it. I have yet to use it on any high value item and would be very leery to accept a gift payment.

My 2 cents.

John

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:31 PM
anthonysemone
• • • •
p.1 #3 · Selling old gear

Gregg,

Do NOT use PP gift!!!!! Would you send or accept a gift from someone whom you don't know?

You're screwed if he claims you sent him a brick. He gets PP to refund his payment, he keeps your lens, and all you've got is your bare ass hangin' out in the breeze.

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:40 PM
penpro
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #4 · Selling old gear

PP tends to side with the buyer anyways. Personally I would only accept cash and in person.

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:43 PM
gfinlayson
• •
p.1 #5 · Selling old gear

From reading PayPal's terms, gift payments sit outside of the buyer and seller protection schemes because by definition there's no sale transaction as it's a 'gift'.

He may simply be offering a gift payment out of good faith as he pays the PayPal transaction fee, not you, so you receive full net value.

However, if his payment is subsequently returned after despatch (due to lack of funds, for example), you would lose out.