Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2012 · Canon 1Ds MkII dumb question, embarrassed to ask!

Nic Davies

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 1Ds MkII dumb question, embarrassed to ask!

Hi everyone. I'm a jobbing wildlife photographer based in Scotland but, to my shame, an utter and complete technophobe. I HATE everything to do with digital photography except its amazing usefulness :¬)

I've recently acquired a Canon 1Ds Mk2 on which I shoot RAW. I'm wondering why the CR2 files it generates are on average around 12Mb in size with the very occasional one being 14Mb and many in the 11 to 12Mb range. I am shooting with a Canon 300mm f2.8 (non-IS) lens.

Forgive my ignorance, but is this right and if so, what is causing this smaller file size than I would expect from this sensor?

Please don't be kind, feel free to be patronising, I understand that I should know this!

Many thanks for any help. Cheers, Nic

ps - is firmware 1.1.6 the latest for this camera? If not, where can I get the latest?

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:34 AM
Pixel Perfect
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 1Ds MkII dumb question, embarrassed to ask!

I must admit that does seem small. Looking at my 5D cr2 files they are around the 12-16MB range and it's only 12.8MP I would have expected 14-18MB from 1Ds II. I just saw the Canon white paper and it says at ISO 100 cr2 files are around 14.6MB. Another review I saw says around 13-16MB. I guess they could have improved the compression algorithm from 5D to 1Ds II?

Edited on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:59 AM · View previous versions

Feb 21, 2012 at 11:56 AM
gadget_

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon 1Ds MkII dumb question, embarrassed to ask!