Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Mark IV vs Mark IIn Noise Comparison

jakita33
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Mark IV vs Mark IIn Noise Comparison

I started shooting indoor basketball this season using my Mark IIn and was thinking about upgrading to the Mark IV for better AF and cleaner pics at higher ISOs. Currently, I don't like getting above ISO 800 on the Mark IIn. What ISO can I use with the Mark IV before having to do some serious noise reduction on the computer. Thanks.

Feb 19, 2012 at 05:14 AM
RobertLynn
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · Mark IV vs Mark IIn Noise Comparison

It really depends on who you talk to.

I shoot ISO 6400 all of the time on the 7D and 1DIII.

I, when I buy IV's will be shooting 6400-12800 regularly.

Feb 19, 2012 at 05:21 AM
rscheffler
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · Mark IV vs Mark IIn Noise Comparison

I leave LR at the default NR settings at least up to ISO 3200 on the IV. It will depend somewhat on your noise tolerance. It's difficult to compare the IV against the IIN because there is a huge difference in resolution. If you downsize a high ISO IV image to IIN resolution you should get a pretty clean image. And a 'noisy' image will generally look a lot better in print than on an LCD display...

Another factor to consider for subjects such as indoor basketball, is that even though you could crank the ISO to 3200 or 6400 and shoot at higher shutter speeds with the IV, it won't necessarily improve your results that much. If the venue is lit with mercury vapor lights, or similar, then shooting at a higher shutter speed will just give you a lot more shot to shot variation in WB when you capture the light at various stages in the on/off cycle.