New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Need a recommendation for a printer

jaehoppa
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need a recommendation for a printer

hi guys
it's my first time even entering this section of FM.
all of a sudden i got interested in getting a printer to print some of my pictures after my friend asked me if she could have some of my pictures to put on her wall.

i've never printed any of my pics at home. only once or twice thru a website.
I'm not a pro, just a hobbyist.
I mostly do landscape (again no pro work) but would love to take pics of my friends and give them the prints.

I guess the most important factor is my budget.
I'm thinking max $500 but would like to spend less than $400 if possible.
I don't plan to print too large. Just about 8 by 11 or slightly bigger..but probably going to print smaller most of the time.

What are my options? I don't know anything about printers.
there is a guy who's selling a brand new canon pixma 9000 II for $160 on my local CL. I don't know if I should go for that one or spend little more to get something a little better.

I mostly use sony a900 and less frequently kodak slr/n and contax n digital if that matters at all.

Thanks.

Feb 07, 2012 at 05:30 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need a recommendation for a printer

Printing and color management to make it work as expected is another skill set to learn. If you only have an occasional need for prints you might consider using a pro lab like WHCC.

If your requirements aren't to critical Costco makes 12 x 18 and larger photo prints very inexpensively. That's what I do. I have an 8.5 x 11 HP 8/C printer I found on sale at Costco about 8 years ago and for everything larger, or when I do portraits or friends, etc. I just have prints made at Costco. I do the Christmas cards there, uploading the photos over the net, designing the card, then picking them up the next day.