Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Canon Warranty Service

Foggy14
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon Warranty Service

Hi gang,

I'm in the market for a new camera and set of lenses. I'm not a professional, but a pretty serious hobbyist with a strong interest in landscape and nature photography.

I've been a Nikon shooter for a long time and would have probably just stayed with their gear, but an unpleasant warranty experience has me considering other brands.

The purpose of my post is to get feedback from Canon users on Canon's customer service after the sale and, in particular, warranty service. If you've had experience with both Canon and Nikon customer service, and have any opinions about how they compare, that would be helpful.

Thanks!

Edited on Jan 18, 2012 at 01:50 AM · View previous versions

Jan 17, 2012 at 06:49 PM
gvg45
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon Warranty Service

I've used Canon service a couple of times and I'd say my experience has been pretty good. I did have to send 1 lens back 3 times to get right but other warranty or repair service visits have been resolved in only 1 trip.

I'm somewhat within reasonable driving distance to their Irvine facility, so I always drop/pick up my equipment there.

For warranty work, as with Nikon, just keep a copy of the purchase receipt. One thing to keep in mind in your transition, Canon lenses are only 1 year warranty as opposed to Nikon's 5 year.

Jan 17, 2012 at 07:28 PM
scalesusa
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon Warranty Service