Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

Jesse1981

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

Hello there.

Well this is my first post and I am extremely new to photography and am looking for some advice.
I am in the process of buying a camera (canon 7D) with 430EXII speedlight.
I really want to get into macro. Its probably my main interested. However portrait and other things would be good too.

So I am looking at the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Camera Lens for about $1000
Or the Tamron 18 - 270,, PZD for about $600
My budget only allows me to get one lens for now.

I know the tamron is not a macro lens and cant do 1:1. However if there is a way I can use it for macro it would be good as it is cheaper and much more versatile.

I've heard of lens reversal and tubes etc.
Can anyone give me some advice on which way I should go and my options.

Thanks heaps.

Jesse

Jan 11, 2012 at 09:24 AM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lens Advice. please help a newbie

there are many ways a lens can be used for macro (or at least closer to 1:1)
extension tubes , correction filters and a reversed other lens (normally a cheap old 50mm) can all be used
BUT and its a big BUT
all have downsides. drop in quality is a big one of them.
the 100L is a supurb lens but as you have a budget I would suggest not blowing the lot on the 100L
there are many truly good macros out there starting . if you just look in the 100mm range you can get
Tamron 90 (a classic) , Sigma 105 (the older non OS is still a very good lens) and the Canon 100 USM . any of these will do great macro work.