Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · 7D Wireless Flash Control Funkiness

Jeff Kingston

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · 7D Wireless Flash Control Funkiness

Am I just catching a bad bit of luck. I have been using the wireless flash control on the 7D for a few years. I set the camera mounted flash to "off" and have 3 remote flashes on a single channel with two ratios A for two and B for the third. And of course I set for ETTL and shoot with a manual setting.

Get great results this way.

But every so often, the flash control seems to have a brain fart and the flashes fire at far too much power and blow out the image. Some have said "this just happens" with the 7D. I can find no rhyme or reason for this to occur.

Has anyone found a "cure" or fix? Today, I nearly 30% of the time the system blew out the image

Jan 10, 2012 at 10:22 PM
omarlyn
• • • •
p.1 #2 · 7D Wireless Flash Control Funkiness

Bad communication…the 'optical' signal between flashes can be a bit 'glitchy'. Is this indoors or outdoors? How far apart are the flashes?

Omar

Jan 10, 2012 at 10:32 PM
Jeff Kingston

p.1 #3 · 7D Wireless Flash Control Funkiness

I am shooting macros of wristwatches, with the watches in a light tent. The remote flashes are no more than 12" from the camera. I take great care to try and orient the flashes so that they have good position relative to the camera.

Jan 10, 2012 at 10:38 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · 7D Wireless Flash Control Funkiness

When you say "camera mounted flash" do you mean the pop-up flash, or a flash in the hot shoe?