Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2011 · Canon 7D / Landscapes question ?

rogerokelley

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 7D / Landscapes question ?

I am not a pro photographer but enjoy all camera's. I was shooting some landscapes with my Canon 7D and a 24mm. I seen another photographer out there who stated the 7D was a sports camera and I will not get landscape pics from it. I have always been happy with what this camera has produced. He kept bragging about his 5D. Again, I am in no way a pro but am I missing something? Am I not getting the most out of landscapes buy using a 7D? I know everyone has their opinion on camera's but have always read good things on the 7D. .. Thanks for any suggestions ?
Roger

Dec 26, 2011 at 01:03 PM
lopye

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 7D / Landscapes question ?

Sounds like one of those full frame snobs. You won't get as wide with the 24 mm because of the 1.6 sensor ... try a 10-22 mm on that 7D and you'll be blown away.

Dec 26, 2011 at 01:16 PM
chas
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Canon 7D / Landscapes question ?

I shot the 17-40 on 300D, 30D, and 40D, as I worked myself up through the Canon bodies, and loved it. I did pick up the 10-22 after I bought the 7D, and for certain landscape shots, it brought spectacular results. But for most landscapes (not all, but most), it was almost too wide. It was great for architectural and indoor work, but I continued to use longer lenses for most landscape stuff. If you are really concerned about it, pass up the 10-22 and pick up a used 5D Classic body. It will give your entire lens collection a whole new perspective. It isn't the most modern body out there, but it still produces amazing images.
Chas