Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Another Clogged Epson

Norm

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Another Clogged Epson

Yes, I know it's Christmas day and I hope Santa was good to you.

I have a continuing problem with my Epson printers and am looking for recommendations. I have a 2200 and a 4800, both of which I have had for quite a spell. I am not a pro photographer, only do it for a hobby. At times I am away from home for weeks at a time, and it might go two months between print jobs, so both printers get very little use and it seems like I spend as much time cleaning the print nozzles as I do printing. I have no idea how much ink I have run through the 4800 over the last 2 years, but much more in cleaning than printing, and just now the yellow nozzle is still plugged after several clean cycles. I don't believe the printer is worth the cost of bundling it up and sending it off for repair. I can live with the 2200, but occasionally I want larger prints.

I need to replace the 4800 with a printer that hopefully will not clog up after setting idle for a month or so at a time. Any suggestions will be very helpful.

Dec 25, 2011 at 11:31 PM
chez
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Another Clogged Epson

I have a couple of Z3100 printers that I use sporadically. I leave them on all the time, they go through a timed cleaning cycle and I have never had any clogging issues. They use very very little ink during the cleaning cycles.

Dec 25, 2011 at 11:46 PM
anthonygh
• • •
p.1 #3 · Another Clogged Epson