New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Student project on the road

essphoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Student project on the road

Hi everyone,

I'm a student about to fly off to shoot a project that I received a grant to complete. I'm not studying photography in school, but I would consider myself an avid enthusiast at least and maybe even semi-pro in some respects. In any case, my project has me doing portraits of very elderly people, mainly in their homes or otherwise indoors. The theme is somber, so I'm picturing low key lighting maybe with a butterfly effect. Right now I'm working with the following gear:

Nikon D300 (I know, it's not full frame, but I plan on upgrading soon when the D800 comes out so most of my lenses are FX)
Nikkor 17-35 2.8
Nikkor 35 1.8 DX
Nikkor 50 1.4
Nikkor 85 1.4
Nikkor 135 2 DC
Manfrotto 190CXPRO4

I need to pick up lighting gear now, and I'm open to all suggestions, but my budget is kind of tight (~$500-$1000 and I don't mind buying used). I also have to keep things lightweight and portable. Any help? I'm thinking I need two flashes, two light stands, umbrellas, a soft box, and collapsible background w/ stand.

Also, does anyone have ideas for how best to light older people? I do want to bring out their features and not try to hide them -- these aren't glamour shots.

Anyway, thank you all in advance. I've posted this on dpreview too, just to get two different sets of opinions. Thanks!

Dec 24, 2011 at 10:20 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Student project on the road

essphoto wrote: