Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · 1.4 II Ext. vs. 1.4 III Ext.

dsr1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 1.4 II Ext. vs. 1.4 III Ext.

I'm new to Canon and here, having bought a 70-200 f4 IS & 100-400 IS lenses here. I'm loving both but need an Extender that will work on both. The 1.4 II is is a lot cheaper, here used and I'm wondering if there's enough difference in IQ and AF speed to make the new version really worth the difference in price to me. I'm very interested in IQ but I'm not made of money, especially here a Christmas.

Thanks for your help in advance.

DonR

Dec 21, 2011 at 01:15 PM
AGeoJO
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 1.4 II Ext. vs. 1.4 III Ext.

Jim (jcolwell) did a comparison between the two. You may want to search for that thread. There is a slight difference in IQ but nothing earth shattering. The AF speed difference and other improvements will be more pronounced in the new supertele lenses. I am not sure what body you will be using the 100-400mm on but depending on your camera body, the AF using the 100-400mm lens may not work with a Canon TC. Just FYI.

Dec 21, 2011 at 01:23 PM
reno.peterson
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 1.4 II Ext. vs. 1.4 III Ext.

With the two lenses you're using, the noticeable improvement between vII and vIII isn't going to be distinguished. I recently picked up a 1.4X II off the boards here to use with my 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, and without owning a new super-tele lens, I've got no intention to upgrade to the III, unless of course I come into a windfall of cash!!!

Dec 21, 2011 at 01:33 PM
dsr1
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 1.4 II Ext. vs. 1.4 III Ext.