Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Pictures of buildings

CoLmes
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Pictures of buildings

OK.. I have no idea which thread this should go on, so I'm plopping it here..

So I'm a photographer that's starting out.. a local doctor (big name in the city) wants me to take a few different pictures for him.

One, he wants a picture of his new office and a big print that he can hang on the wall inside. Big big print.

Two, he wants a picture of his home. I'd imagine this print to be slightly smaller.

Three, Family pictures.. those are going to be the easy part.

My questions are.. what lens is adequate for the first two photographs.. I'd take them during day light, I just need a lens that's wide enough. I'm probably going to end up renting one.. I only own a 70-200 and a 50mm.

My camera is a Canon 60D So I don't have a FF camera which could be a problem.. will it handle big enough prints if I put it on full raw?

How do I even charge for this? I don't want to run him a large bill, but I would like for him to help get my name out there. He's really known around here and it could help if I could figure out how.

Thanks for any input

Dec 10, 2011 at 04:59 PM
Gregory Edge
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Pictures of buildings

The best lenses for architectural shots are the TS-E. Shoot in RAW. How big will the print be? "big big print" means nothing. My idea of a "big big print" is a billboard. Others might be a 20x30.

For the building photos you will probably need a 17 TS-E. Have you scouted the locations? Tried your 50mm? if you keep the camera level you can correct distortion in post. Not as good as a TS-E but decent.

Also you should go at different times of the day and scout the lighting.

Dec 10, 2011 at 05:28 PM
CoLmes
• •