Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · Considering E-P3, but which bundle to get (lenses)?

ZeroSteve

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Considering E-P3, but which bundle to get (lenses)?

Hi guys,

I'm looking to replace my Fuji X100 which has been great to me these past 6 months, but I'm starting to get a bit frustrated with the slow autofocus and the lack of focal length options (it's fixed 35mm equiv., FYI). I do have a DSLR which I've been shooting for a few years and I continue to use that, but I need something smaller for the pocket (cargo pants/jacket) and quiet'er than the mirror slap offered by my Nikon

The E-P3 with either VF-2 or VF-3 seems like a good option. I prefer a black E-P3, but it seems VF-3 is only available in silver, so I wonder how that will look...?

Anyway, what bundle should I get? Locally, prices are as follows:

E-P3 with 14-42mm and 40-150mm kit lenses: 1200 ($1600)
E-P3 with 17mm f2.8 pancake: 740 ($990)
E-P3 with 14-42mm kit lens: 799 ($1070)
E-P3 body only: 716 ($960)

I'm a bit all over the place in terms of what I'm shooting, to be honest. I'm used to the 23mm f2 (35mm equiv.) on the X100, and when I'm just out and about with my Nikon I'm using the 35mm f1.8 (52mm equiv.), so I'm guessing the 17mm pancake on E-P3 will be nice. On the other hand, it would probably be nice to have 14-42mm available, but I don't know if the lens is generally too slow? I like blurry backgrounds (bokeh) and a fast lens for indoor shooting, so I'm guessing since m4/3 sensors are smaller than APS-C, that I need something really fast on E-P3 to give me as much creamy bokeh as possible.