Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · What light setup to recreate this shot?

Leesure

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · What light setup to recreate this shot?

I'm a amateur starting out with my first job and need help buying my first light kit. These shots will be taken at customers store or warehouse and power is easily available. This shot was taken inside store next to a window. Customer did not have a problem withe color change from the window light on the right to the hot light on the left from the store lighting. The customer did like the shading form the window and overall exposure. Obviously this window light will not always be available when the customer needs the shoots taken. How much light and what type will I need to consistonly light upholstered furniture this way. Will I need strobes, more flash unite, hot or cold continuos, soft boxes, umbrellas. Please help me with the first critical purchase. The budget is 2000.00

I Own
5d mark II
580ex II
420 ex
85 1.2 II
24-105 is
16-35 2.8 II
70-200 2.8 is

thank you

Canon EOS 5D Mark II    EF85mm f/1.2L II USM lens    85mm    f/3.2    1/80s    400 ISO    0.0 EV  

Dec 06, 2011 at 06:57 PM
Bruce Sawle
• • • •
p.1 #2 · What light setup to recreate this shot?

This could be done with one light shot through an umbrella right of the sofa.

Dec 06, 2011 at 07:09 PM
Mark_L
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · What light setup to recreate this shot?

Your 580exII with an umbrella would do this no problem, you might need your other flash though another umbrella as fill though.