Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2011 · A question about color correction

friscoron
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · A question about color correction

This is something that's always bothered me. To me, color is pretty subjective and you adjust your color correction for each shot. But for portrait shots, when you're trying to make the color as real as it can be, it shouldn't be so subjective. It seems there should be a systematic way of doing it. Note: this is cropped just to focus on the color. Lights are main and fill at 45 degrees, they wanted the Sears portrait, not dramatic lighting. Two lights also on the background.

I'm pretty much self-taught, so that means there's a lot I haven't learned. Things I haven't even known to ask. So here's my big question. How do you color-correct, and know the color is what it should be?

Here are two examples.

1. Straight out of the camera. It has a yellowish hue which is the norm for my camera. The background is black, and lit so it will be gray.

2. Some editing. Check my notes below.

I open in Bridge and often use the White Balancing Tool, hitting on various white spots to see how the color changes. I rely on my subjectivity as to what I end up with. In this case, hitting the woman's teeth gave me this color. I then opened it in Photoshop and adjusted the color balance some. But I still see too much yellow green in her face, and yet his face is too pink. The background now has a blue tint to it. That's what led to my finally posting this question to you guys. Looking forward to seeing what you have to say.

Nov 15, 2011 at 02:26 PM
CRFTony
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · A question about color correction