Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2011 · Zeiss 35mm f/2 or f/1.4 for Landscaping

jffielde
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · Zeiss 35mm f/2 or f/1.4 for Landscaping

I've flipped through the various threads on these two lenses (in the current Zeiss line-up), and I'm still in a bit of a quandary as to which is likely the better landscaping lens (stopped down performance). The new f/1.4 seems to have better corner-to-corner performance and better CA control, but it also has significant field curvature. Any thoughts?

May 08, 2011 at 09:48 PM
Mirek Elsner
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · Zeiss 35mm f/2 or f/1.4 for Landscaping

I have no experience with 35/2 and can't offer any comparison. But from my limited testing, the 35/1.4 is as suitable for landscapes as 21/2.8 (with the added benefits of low light performance and narrow dof). If the performance stopped down is comparable between 35/1.4 and 35/2, the size and weight may be the deciding factor for you.

Here is one from the 35/1.4:

May 08, 2011 at 10:18 PM
jffielde
• •
p.1 #3 · Zeiss 35mm f/2 or f/1.4 for Landscaping

Beautiful. Size and weight don't matter much to me (for purposes of this inquiry).

May 08, 2011 at 10:54 PM
denoir
• • • •
p.1 #4 · Zeiss 35mm f/2 or f/1.4 for Landscaping

Mirek Elsner wrote:
But from my limited testing, the 35/1.4 is as suitable for landscapes as 21/2.8 (with the added benefits of low light performance and narrow dof).