New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · How to get the 3D look?

visanic
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to get the 3D look?

I'm a relative newbie here and am always impresses with the 3D look that I see in a lot of photos here.

What are some of the things you can do to get that effect? I know that having good lenses helps, but isn't the whole story...

Thanks in advance for your tips.
Dan

Mar 13, 2011 at 08:16 AM
canerino
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How to get the 3D look?

Dan,

What you are seeing is a function of shallow depth of field, meaning, only a small portion of the scene is in focus. A few things effect depth of field: 1. Aperture - the wider the aperture, the depth of field is shallower. 2. Distance to the subject - the closer you are to the subject, the depth of field is shallower. 3. Focal Length - the longer the focal length, the depth of field is shallower.

Canon 85L @ f/1.2:

http://www.pbase.com/anerino/image/82095057.jpg

Mar 13, 2011 at 08:35 AM
visanic
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How to get the 3D look?

Thanks, nice shot.

It also appears that the background is darker in this picture. Does selective dodging and burning also help enhance that look?

-Dan

Mar 13, 2011 at 08:52 AM
canerino
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · How to get the 3D look?

In this particular photo, a storm had just rolled through and those skys were darker (relative to the light shining on the boy).

With that said, I dont think dodging and burning enhance DOF.

Mar 13, 2011 at 08:59 AM
Milque
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · How to get the 3D look?

They may not enhance depth of field, but selectively controlling contrasts can add to the impression of depth. The idea that the eye registers brighter things as closer and darker as farther away..

There's more than one way to skin a 3D cat.

Mar 13, 2011 at 09:16 AM
alanwarp
• • •